When you are working on a task for a project, you will need to use and save various files. The places where you can store your files vary depending on:
- What storage has been assigned to your project
- Whether your project is associated with a pipeline tool.
It's important that you understand where you can save your files, as the SimpleCloud workstations are not the same as regular computers. As virtual machines, they can change in every session. So each time you or another user logs on, some data is regenerated from scratch. This offers huge advantages for avoiding viruses and malware and providing better performance. But it also means that if you do not save your files in the designated places, those files can be lost.
Where can you save your files? In these places:
- In your Documents, Downloads, Images, and Videos folders.
These files will not be removed, but they are only available to you. They are not shared with other users.
- On the shared drive(s) that have been assigned to your project.
When the studio owner or manager sets up the project, they can assign one or more shared storage drives to it. If you log in to the Simple Launcher and select a project, that shared drive is automatically mounted on your workstation. You will be able to see the drive by using the file explorer, for example, if the shared storage has an E: drive, that will be available when you select the project. But the E: drive is not available until you select the project in the Simple Launcher.
- On the drives that have been assigned to your pipeline (if a pipeline tool is used). These drives are not shown to you, as they are managed by the pipeline tool. If you save files in the pipeline tool, the pipeline tool stores them on a designated drive, where the work can be tracked as a work in progress or published.
Files that are stored anywhere else will not be saved when you log out of a session. So it is important that you always save to one of the places listed above.